What Is The Minimum Insurance Requirement in California?
Do you have questions about automobile insurance coverage in California?
What are the minimum insurance requirements for drivers in California?
Our experienced auto accident attorneys want to make sure that you have the car insurance coverage you need to protect you and your loved ones in the event of a car crash.
Have you been injured in a California car crash? If so, you need an accident law firm that does not stop fighting for you and for your family against big insurance companies.
Gordon R. Levinson used to work for those big insurance companies but now he uses his knowledge to fight for your right to a fair and just settlement for your injuries.
We accept cases on a contingent fee. That means that if there is no recovery in your case, then you pay us nothing. And in most cases, we even advance the costs.
What Are The Minimum Insurance Requirements in California?
In order to protect drivers on our roads, California has enacted minimum insurance requirements that every driver must have if he or she operates a motor vehicle in our state.
Unfortunately, some drivers ignore our insurance laws. This means that you must not only carry the minimum insurance required by law but you should carry optional insurance coverage in the event you are injured by an uninsured motorist.
Below, we discuss the California minimum insurance requirements and the optional insurance coverage we recommend to keep you safe from uninsured motorists.
California Minimum Insurance Requirements
California requires all drivers to provide proof of their financial responsibility in order to operate a vehicle within the state.
Financial responsibility is your ability to pay damages in the event you cause a car crash that results in injuries and/or property damage for another person. Most drivers choose automobile insurance coverage as their preferred method of financial responsibility. In lieu of insurance coverage, you may choose one of the following types of financial responsibility according to California’s automobile insurance laws:
- A $35,000 cash deposit with the California Department of Motor Vehicles;
- A DMV-issued certificate of self-insurance; or,
- A $35,000 surety bond from a California licensed business.
If you choose to purchase automobile insurance as your form of financial responsibility, California insurance law requires you to maintain minimum liability insurance coverage in the following amounts:
- $15,000 for the injury or death to one person
- $30,000 for the injury or death to two or more people
- $5,000 for property damage
Failure to maintain liability insurance in the above amounts or failure to provide another acceptable form of financial responsibility is against the law.
If you are stopped by law enforcement, you can face penalties including high fines and suspension of your vehicle registration and driver’s license.
[juris_cta heading=”THE STRESS ENDS HERE.” content=”Schedule your free consultation.” button-text=”SCHEDULE” button-url=”/contact-us/”]
Uninsured Motorist Insurance and Underinsured Motorist Insurance
Many drivers choose to operate a vehicle without insurance coverage.
They are a danger to themselves and to all others on the road. When they cause a car crash, the accident victims are left to deal with the high medical expenses, lost wages, property damage, and other expenses related to the car crash. For that reason, our lawyers for auto accidents recommend that you discuss purchasing uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage with your insurance agent. The protection you receive is usually very good for the cost.
Uninsured motorist coverage pays your expenses up to your insurance policy limits in the event you are injured in a motor vehicle crash caused by an uninsured driver. Underinsured motorist coverage pays you if your damages exceed the maximum insurance coverage of the other driver, up to your policy limits.
One note to remember — even though you are dealing with your own insurance carrier, your insurance company is still protecting its best interest.
Contact an Experienced California Auto Accident Lawyer Today
You should consult with one of our experienced personal injury lawyers to protect your right to receive a fair and just settlement. Regardless of whether you are dealing with another driver’s insurance company or your own insurance company, you need a legal expert on your side. Our skilled California car accident attorneys are always looking out for your best interests.