9 Jan 2019,

Traffic Collision Report: California Highway Patrol

Have you been involved in a serious car accident that was responded to by the California Highway Patrol?

If so, we recommend that you request a copy of your traffic collision report.

In addition to staggeringly high medical bills, car accident victims are forced to deal with lost wages and property damage sustained from the crash.

But there is a way out.

The police accident report has vital information that will support your case and help you obtain the highest compensation for your suffering.

In this article, our experienced California auto accident lawyers explain the different ways you can obtain a copy of your California Highway Patrol accident report.

How to Request a Copy of your California Highway Patrol Accident Report

According to the California Highway Patrol official website, you may obtain a copy of your report in-person or via a U.S. mail request.

Requesting Your Report In-Person

You must bring a completed Application for Release of Information to the CHP area office where the collision report was filed. You may search for the nearest California Highway Patrol office by using the search box provided on the CHP official website.

The front desk is open Monday through Friday, 8am to 5pm. Make sure to bring valid government issued identification and a method of payment.

Requesting (and Receiving) Your Report Through the Mail

You may mail in a written request to the CHP office where your collision report was filed via U.S. mail.

You must include the following in order to obtain your California Highway Patrol collision report:

  • A legible photocopy of your valid, government-issued photo ID, or a notarized signature
  • A completed Application for Release of Information form
  • A certified check or money order issued for the $10.00 – $40.00 processing fee payable to the: California Highway Patrol
  • A self-addressed, stamped envelope.

Mail your accident report request to the CHP area office where the collision report was filed.

Important Items to Note About Obtaining Your Report:

  • The California Highway Patrol does charge a fee for traffic accident reports. A report costs anywhere between $10.00 – $40.00. Call the CHP at 1-800-835-5247 to confirm your required payment.
  • You should wait approximately 7-10 days business days from the date of your accident to allow your report to be processed and approved for release by the CHP.
  • The California Highway Patrol may take up to 10 days to review your request.
  • Your traffic accident report request will be reviewed for eligibility for release.
  • You are required go in-person to the front counter and present valid government issued identification and payment when picking up your accident report.
  • If you do not know your report number, want to confirm the cost, or have any other questions, you may call the California Highway Patrol’s informational line at 1-800-835-5247.

Contact a California Car Accident Lawyer

Getting into a car accident can be scary, but a skilled San Diego auto accident attorney can help you navigate through this difficult time. With over 40 combined years of experience and nearly $50 million recovered for our clients, we can help you get the compensation you deserve.

Call Levinson Law today at (760) 827-1700 or send us an online message to schedule a free case consultation.